Truong V. Le

I received my doctorate in Computational Astrophysics under the director of Prof. Peter Becker in the School of Computational Sciences at George Mason University in 2004. I accepted a research fellowship to work at the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) between 2004-2007 with Dr. Kent Wood and Dr. Michael Wolff on linear analysis of unstable radiative shocks in Advection Dominated Accretion Disks, and with Dr. Charles Dermer on particle acceleration in high-energy radiation and cosmic-ray production in astrophysical environments, and Gamma-Ray-Bursts Cosmology. I spent the next three years at the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) in Baltimore, MD supporting NASA next generation space telescope, the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) to ready for launch in 2014 to study: the First Light in the Universe after the Big Bang, Assembly of Galaxies, Physics of Star Formation, and the Formation of Planetary Systems and the Conditions for Life. I then spent the next three semesters teaching calculus-based physics to the gifted and talented high school students at the Governor's School for Science and Technology in Hampton, VA.

My first taste at doing research in the area of black holes (supermassive black hole-AGN) was with Dr. Paul Nandra in the summer of 1999 at Goddard NASA in Greenbelt, Maryland . Following the summer, I was accepted to the doctoral program in computational astrophysics from the School of Computational Sciences at George Mason University. I studied under the supervision of Professor Peter A. Becker along the area of accretion flows, particles acceleration, shocks and jets in compact objects (supermassive black holes).

Currently I am a Visiting Assistant Professor with the Physic and Astronomy Department at the College of Charleston . I am actively collaborating my research work in black hole, GRB-Cosmology, and accretion disks instability with Professors Peter Becker, Lev Titarchuk, Das Santabrata , and research scientists Drs. Kent Wood, Charles Dermer, and Neil Gehrel at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Naval Research Laboratory, George Mason University, and India Institute of Guwahati.